The Utah Board of Oil, Gas and Mining is the policy making body for the Division of Oil, Gas and Mining. It was created and exists under the authority of the Utah Oil and Gas Conservation Act, Section 40-6 of the Utah Code. The board consists of seven members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate. No more than four members may be from the same political party, and the members must have the following qualifications:

  • Two members knowledgeable in mining matters;
  • Two members knowledgeable in oil and gas matters;
  • One member knowledgeable in ecological and environmental matters;
  • One member who is a private land owner, owns a mineral or royalty interest and is knowledgeable in those interests; and
  • One member who is knowledgeable in geological matters.

Hearing Date Deadline To File Request for Agency Action Hearing Location
01/25/2023 12/12/2022 SLC, UT
02/22/2023 01/10/2023 SLC, UT
03/22/2023 02/10/2023 SLC, UT
04/26/2023 03/10/2023 SLC, UT
05/24/2023 04/10/2023 SLC, UT
06/28/2023 05/10/2023 SLC, UT
07/26/2023 06/12/2023 SLC, UT
08/23/2023 07/10/2023 SLC, UT
09/27/2023 08/10/2023 SLC, UT
10/25/2023 09/11/2023 SLC, UT
12/06/2023 10/10/2023 SLC, UT
01/24/2024 12/11/2023 SLC, UT
current agenda button