Utah Board of Oil, Gas and Mining

The Utah Board of Oil, Gas and Mining is the policy making body for the Division of Oil, Gas and Mining. It was created and exists under the authority of the Utah Oil and Gas Conservation Act, Section 40-6 of the Utah Code. The board consists of seven members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate. No more than four members may be from the same political party, and the members must have the following qualifications:

  • Two members knowledgeable in mining matters;
  • Two members knowledgeable in oil and gas matters;
  • One member knowledgeable in ecological and environmental matters;
  • One member who is a private land owner, owns a mineral or royalty interest and is knowledgeable in those interests; and
  • One member who is knowledgeable in geological matters.
LaVonne J. Garrison
Selma Sierra
Gordon L. Moon
Gregg Galecki
Richard K. Borden
Stephen Church
Alan Walker

Hearing DateDeadline To File Request For Agency ActionHearing Location
01/24/202412/11/2023SLC, UT
02/28/202401/10/2024SLC, UT
03/27/202402/12/2024SLC, UT
04/24/202403/11/2024SLC, UT
05/22/202404/10/2024SLC, UT
06/26/202405/10/2024SLC, UT
07/31/202406/10/2024SLC, UT
08/28/202407/10/2024SLC, UT
09/25/202408/12/2024SLC, UT
10/23/202409/10/2024SLC, UT
12/04/202410/10/2024SLC, UT
01/22/202512/10/2024SLC, UT